eat! craft! live!

Baking, crafting, mama-ing and taking photos of it all. When I remember.

KIP!

Leave a comment

Well, the basil I mentioned yesterday isn’t fully dried yet, but it looks like it will be done by tomorrow, or the day after at the latest!

yarney

So instead of discussing how wonderful and delicious basil is, I’ll tell you all about knitting in public! For those of you who don’t know, this Saturday, June 14th is World Wide Knit in Public Day. There’s a full history here, but basically the event started in 2005 as a way to get knitters out and about and knitting with other like-minded folks. Knitting is such a solitary activity, it’s easy to get lost in your own little world! (Which is partly why I like it, honestly!) Anyway, it takes place the second Saturday of June every year, and this year there are tons of events all over the world. I hope to be down at the Capitol here in Austin on Saturday, knitting…something. My second sock will hopefully be finished already (fingers crossed!) and I’m not sure I want to knit on my lace scarf…maybe I’ll start something new! Any suggestions?

It should be entertaining. I almost always knit alone, or at least without other knitters, but I knit in public nearly every day. As a general rule, you will find my busy little hands working on some knitted object every morning and afternoon on the bus to and from work. Very few people even seem to notice, and it’s usually men (oddly, I think) that comment on it. A youngish (maybe high school aged?) boy was staring at me knitting this afternoon, nearly to the point of being rude. I look forward to seeing how and what other people are knitting!

Leave a Reply

