eat! craft! live!

Baking, crafting, mama-ing and taking photos of it all. When I remember.

no, the basil isn’t done yet…

Leave a comment

food from above

OK. So the basil still hasn’t dried completely yet. Not all of it anyway. But it’s well on its way!

I used a little bit of what had dried in my very simple dinner tonight. It’s sort of like the love child of a pizza and a sandwich. Here’s what I do: Take some sliced bread and toast it. Good rustic bread is best, but I just used homemade sandwich bread this evening because it happened to be what was lounging forlornly on top of the fridge. Slice some tomatoes and plop them onto the toast. Sprinkle some basil (or your herb of choice) and maybe some salt and/or pepper over it, top with cheese and stick it in the oven for a little bit until everything gets all warm and melty and delicious. Mozzarella is particularly good on this. Tonight I used provolone, which M likes to call “the cheese with no taste.” I toast the bread first so the tomatoes don’t make a swamp of my dinner with all their juices, but if you’re a wet bread lover, feel free to skip that step!

I usually eat it on a plate with a knife and fork, all civilized-like, but that’s mainly so those aforementioned tomato juices don’t scald my greedy little mouth when I take a big bite. Yum!

Leave a Reply

