eat! craft! live!

Baking, crafting, mama-ing and taking photos of it all. When I remember.

what to do with a blank book

Leave a comment

blank book (by bookgrl)

I don’t really talk about it much, but I make books. Maybe you’ve noticed, maybe you haven’t. I sell them in my Etsy shop (or at least, I try to…it’s been slow the past month or so…) and I really enjoy working with some of the gorgeous paper I’ve hoarded over time. But I think people often wonder what they would do with a blank journal, thinking that they are either for serious writers, diary-scribbling pre-teens, or tortured artists madly sketching away. Even I fall victim to that mindset. I tend not to use the ones that I make, since they all get listed in my shop, leaving me scrounging for scraps of paper whenever I want to write something down. I’ve got notes hastily jotted down on old envelopes, junk mail, receipts, you name it. But what I really need is a little notepad that I can carry around with me. Conveniently, I make them – like these or this one, for example. (Um, now I just have to make one for myself…) Anyway, the most recent post on our Bookbinding Etsy Street Team blog (BEST for short) had a lot of really great ideas so I thought I’d share with you! One of my favorites is the “guest book” idea – have friends and/or family write/draw/doodle/whatever in it over time. I’ve actually implemented this and it’s endlessly entertaining to go back and read things that friends wrote 10+ years ago. So check it out! Then hop on over to Etsy and search for “bookbinding team” to find some great books made by me and my fellow BEST members.

Leave a Reply

