eat! craft! live!

Baking, crafting, mama-ing and taking photos of it all. When I remember.

30 days of thanks

Leave a comment

A tweet from a fellow blogger had me thinking this morning about what I'm thankful for…and I think that posting about something every day this month will get me thinking even more! I sometimes feel like I'm not thankful enough for what I've been given, though I try to be mindful of it daily.

So what was I thankful for today?

maple blueberry muffins

Muffins!

But really the kindness of others and a nice workplace.

What happened was this: I awoke this morning when E did, looked at the clock and saw that it was 6:30. I thought to myself, "Hm. It seems awfully light for 6:30, but whatever." A little thought at the back of my mind tried to jiggle itself to the forefront because E has been sleeping until 7 or 7:30 recently and it was a bit odd for her to wake up so early. But I ignored it. Sometimes when she's playing with the alarm clock, she hits the Daylight Savings Time button and accidentally sets the clock backward (or forward) an hour. I checked the clock, but that was not what had happened, so we played and lounged and read a book and merrily went about our morning waking-up-time.

Finally, I dragged myself from the warm cocoon of blankets and went into the bathroom to take a shower. The bathroom where there is a clock. The clock, oddly, was an hour ahead of the clock in the bedroom. Alarmed, and kicking myself for not checking more thoroughly, I went into the kitchen to check the time. The kitchen clock confirmed my fears – the clock in the bedroom was indeed an hour behind!

Suddenly our leisurely morning was hurried and rushed. As I ran out the door after M and E, I had to double check and make sure I was properly dressed. Needless to say, there was no time for even a quick bite to eat. I arrived at work and found a bit of candy in the break room to munch for breakfast. Upon seeing this, my boss offered me one of her pear cornmeal muffins! Thankful, I accepted it and was thus saved from having a breakfast of leftover Halloween Nerds.

So why was my clock an hour behind? Well. I have a cheapo alarm clock I bought at Target years ago, but one of its "fancy" features is that it automatically adjusts for Daylight Savings Time. It did it today. Stupid clock.

Leave a Reply

