eat! craft! live!

Baking, crafting, mama-ing and taking photos of it all. When I remember.

pinata apples, anyone?

Leave a comment

pinata apples

I get a lot of PR people contacting me about various things, most of them entirely irrelevant to my interests/this blog/my location. (Hey Austin PR folks – I moved away 2.5 years ago! Just, y'know…) But once in a while, something catches my eye and I actually pay attention! This is one of those occasions. How could I pass up free apples?

The apples are called Piñata and this is what they have to say about them:

"Piñata is a cross between England's Cox's Orange Pippin, Russia's Duchess of Oldenburg, and the classic American apple, Golden Delicious. The best attributes of these three varieties combine to make Piñata, an apple that is crisp and juicy with both high sugars and high acids, and a subtle tropical finish."

And you know me, I wouldn't actually blog about them if I didn't like them. They were really quite tasty! We ate them fresh, me and little E, though apparently they are good for cooking too. And the most recent apples I've been getting from the supermarket have been rather mealy and dry and a little long in the tooth, so it was refreshing to get some nice, crisp juicy apples this time of year. (Though M did mention it seemed to take advantage of modern logistics, this sending two apples in a little padded box through the mail…)

pinata apples

But we were glad to have them! E devoured them, but she isn't exactly an apple connoisseur, so… I thought they were crunchy, crisp, surprisingly juicy. They were a nice mix of sweet and tart. I'm not a huge fan of the "Delicious" family of apples myself, so there was something that I didn't exactly love about them, but really they were quite good and I will definitely make a point to seek them out this winter!

My only real complaint is that they are only licensed to be grown by one grower and I'm not really sure how I feel about that…but frankly I don't know enough about the apple industry to have any sort of adequately educated opinion about it, so take my words with a grain of salt!

The apples are tasty – give 'em a try!

Find them here

Leave a Reply

