eat! craft! live!

Baking, crafting, mama-ing and taking photos of it all. When I remember.

mom’s spinach lasagna

Leave a comment

Oh, this lasagna.

This lasagna is easy, tasty, inexpensive. It is easily doubled and I often make two at once – one to eat immediately and one to stash in the freezer for some future lazy day. It's my go-to dish to bring to cold-weather potlucks, new parents, anyone who needs a little food-pick-me-up. It freezes well and reheats beautifully. I've been meaning to blog this recipe for ages but somehow hadn't gotten around to it…I was reminded to when I made it for a friend (and also our freezer) and also gave the recipe to another friend to make ahead for her freezer to prep for a new baby. I got the recipe from my mother, which is why I consider it my mother's spinach lasagna. But, she got from someone else, who likely clipped it from a magazine some 20-odd years ago or more. (Basically, I have no idea where this recipe originated.) And…apologies, but I have no photo of the finished product. Use your imagination, it looks much like any other lasagna.

mom's spinach lasagna

  • 1 15 oz. container of ricotta
  • 8 oz. shredded mozzarella
  • 1 egg
  • 1 10 oz. package frozen chopped spinach, thawed
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon oregano
  • 32 oz. pasta sauce
  • 9 lasagna noodles
  • just under 1 cup water

Preheat oven to 350°.

In a medium bowl, mix together the ricotta, egg, spinach, salt, oregano, and half the mozzarella.

In a 13×9 baking dish, layer 1/4 of the sauce, followed by 3 lasagna noodles and half of the ricotta mixture. Repeat. Top with 1/4 of the sauce, 3 more lasagna noodles, the remaining sauce and finally the remaining shredded mozzarella. (Got that? From the bottom – sauce, noodles, ricotta, sauce, noodles, ricotta, sauce, noodles, sauce, mozzarella.)

Finally, pour the water carefully around the edge of the pan. Cover tightly with foil and bake for 1 1/4 hours or until bubbly.

lasagnaMixing the ricotta mixture.

lasagnaI used cheap sauce. Feel free to get fancy!

lasagnaSauce, with noodles on top.

lasagnaNow with ricotta!

lasagnaThe final layer of mozzarella.

lasagnaNow pour water around the edges…

lasagna…and you end up with weird, watery tomato-ness at the edges. It's OK. It'll all soak in and be delicious. I promise.

Leave a Reply

