eat! craft! live!

Baking, crafting, mama-ing and taking photos of it all. When I remember.

willow cowl!

Leave a comment

willow cowlThis cowl is amazing – but you’d never know it from the pattern photos. A friend had one she’d made when we went to Asheville last year, and since that time several of us on that trip have knit our own! Since I also used the yarn I bought in Asheville, I like to think of it as my Asheville 2014 commemorative cowl.

willow cowlThe pattern is the Willow Cowl. It is enormous! We all doubled the pattern, casting on twice the number of stitches as called for, but the main thing about its size is the length. I could wear the thing as a skirt! (I mean, assuming I didn’t mind wearing a lacy, see-through knit skirt…) The pattern is easy – just sections of simple lace, alternating with sections of plain stockinette. The only drawback that I remember, especially if you double it, is that it takes forever to knit! I used two skeins of tosh merino light and I almost used every last inch. I think I had maybe a yard or two left after binding off. (Talk about cutting it close!)

willow cowlI love those pointy little picot edges!

See the details of mine on Ravelry.

Leave a Reply

